top of page

The Annual Morton Marcus Poetry Reading honors poet, teacher, and film critic Morton Marcus (1936–2009). Morton, a nationally acclaimed poet, called Santa Cruz his home for more than 40 years. The annual poetry series continues Morton's tradition of bringing acclaimed poets to Santa Cruz County, continues to acknowledge the significant role poetry has played in the community's history, and works to maintain poetry's influence in the county's culture.


The annual reading is held each year in November. Always free of charge, the reading alternates annually between Cabrillo College, where Morton taught for 30 years, and the University of California at Santa Cruz, which houses the Morton Marcus Poetry Archive.


Sponsors: Ow Family Properties; UC Santa Cruz's Institute for Humanities Research, Living Writers Series, and Special Collections & Archives; Poetry Santa Cruz; Santa Cruz Writes; and the Cabrillo College English Department.


Current Organizing Committee: Len Anderson, Donna Mekis, Mark Ong (Committee Chair), Maggie Paul, Irena Polić, Jory Post, Elisabeth Remak-Honnef, Joseph Stroud, and Gary Young.

Initial Committee: Len Anderson, Jana Marcus, Donna Mekis, Mark Ong, Maggie Paul, Jory Post, Joseph Stroud, and Gary Young.

What is the Annual Reading?

Who was Morton Marcus?

Listen to Rick Kleffel & Gary Young explain it all.

KUSP's Talk of the Bay - 10/31/2010

The Annual Morton Marcus Poetry PRIZE

The annual Morton Marcus Poetry Prize is held in honor of the memory and work of Morton Marcus, whose life and work inspired thousands through his infectious belief in community, dedication to the work of poetry, and support of the arts. Click Here for more details or visit phren-Z.

bottom of page